K-12 Curriculum

Schools within the Diocese of Wagga Wagga follow the subject syllabuses mandated by the New South Wales Board of Studies from Early Stage 1 (Kindergarten) through to Stage 6 (Year 12).

Each May our students in years 3, 5, 7 and 9 participate in NAPLAN - National Assessment Program Literacy and Numeracy. This national program of testing assesses the student achievement in literacy and numeracy and focuses on students' skills in numeracy, reading, writing, spelling, punctuation and grammar.

Visit the NAPLAN FAQ site for further detail.

National Curriculum

ACARA is the organisation responsible for the development of Australia's national curriculum from Kindergarten to Year 12, starting with the learning areas of English, mathematics, science and history, for implementation from 2014. As a second phase of work, national curriculum will be developed in languages, geography and the arts. The development of continua for literacy and numeracy skills and ICT will be a foundation of the curriculum.

The curriculum will outline the essential skills, knowledge and capabilities that all young Australians are entitled to access, regardless of their social or economic background or the school they attend.


View the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians

The NSW Board of Studies - responsible for the development of curriculum taught in our schools.

Information about NAPLAN

Visit the Australian Curriculm Assessment & Reporting Authority


Year of Youth

Get Adobe Reader

Adobe Reader 8 or higher is required to view documents


McAlroy House Visitor Conditions