Vocational Education and Training

The Catholic Schools Office in the Diocese of Wagga Wagga is a Registered Training Organisation (RTO) for Vocational Education and Training (NTIS 90306).

Courses offered as part of the Vocational Education and Training (VET) curriculum framework through our RTO provide students with an opportunity to gain industry credentials which are accredited under the Australian Qualifications Framework.

VET courses may be undertaken as part of the HSC or in years 9 and 10.  One VET course can be used in the Australian Tertiary Admissions Rank (ATAR), although more than one can be listed on the HSC.

Some of the benefits of studying a VET course include:

  • Two certificates – the HSC and the Industry Certificate (which is nationally recognised).
  • Practical skills which are relevant to work and future study. VET courses are delivered under the accreditation of both the New South Wales Board of Studies and the Industry Sector relevant to each framework course.

VET courses are skills-driven, based on the specific skill sets identified by the industry sector as being required for employment within that industry, which means VET courses can provide a pathway for future training or employment opportunities.

All Secondary schools, within the Diocese of Wagga Wagga, provide opportunities for VET study, although the courses offered may differ between schools, and units of competency within those courses may vary slightly (full course syllabus details are available on the Board of Studies website or ask at your school for the course outline).


View the VET in Schools Fact Sheet

View the Curriculum Framework for Business Ssrvices

View the Curriculum Framework for Construction

View the Curriculum Framework for Entertainment

View the Curriculum Framework for Hospitality

View the Curriculum Framework for Information Technology

View the Curriculum Framework for Metal & Engineering

View the Curriculum Framework for Retail

View the Student & Parent Information Handbook


Year of Youth

Get Adobe Reader

Adobe Reader 8 or higher is required to view documents


McAlroy House Visitor Conditions