Primary curriculum

In Primary years (K-6) (Early Stage 1 - Stage 3), the following are the key learning areas:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and Its Environment
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education

In 2006, NSW Primary Curriculum Foundation Statements were released by the NSW Board of Studies. The 24 Foundation Statements are in response to the recommendations of the Eltis Evaluation and the public consultation that followed. They are short, clear descriptions of the knowledge and skills that each student should develop at each stage of primary school. They answer the question: ‘What must be taught?’

Further information can be accessed through the NSW Board of Studies


Primary syllabus information

Parents guide to the primary syllabuses

NSW Foundation statements

NAPLAN information for parents


Year of Youth

Get Adobe Reader

Adobe Reader 8 or higher is required to view documents


McAlroy House Visitor Conditions